Pocono INDYCAR 400 Fueled by Sunoco

Pocono INDYCAR 400 Fueled by Sunoco
Pocono Raceway, Long Pond, Pennsylvania
12 p.m. EDT Sunday, July 7, 2013


  • The 11th round of the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series marks the return of the championship to Pocono Raceway for the first time in 24 years. It will be the second round of the 2013 "Triple Crown", which includes the Indianapolis 500 in May and October's season-ending MAV TV 500 at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, California.
  • Indy cars last raced at the 2.5-mile Pocono "tri-oval" in 1989, an event won by Danny Sullivan. Sullivan also won at Pocono in 1984. Other Pocono winners include current Honda Indy car team owners A.J. Foyt (1973, 1975, 1979 and 1981) and Bobby Rahal (1988).
  • Although this will be Honda's first Indy car race at Pocono, several Honda-powered teams have previously tested at the circuit, including Rahal Lanigan Letterman drivers Graham Rahal and James Jakes; Target Chip Ganassi Racing's Dario Franchitti; Schmidt Hamilton Motorsports' Simon Pagenaud; and Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing's Josef Newgarden. The series will hold an open test for the full 24-car field on Thursday, July 4. The test will be open to the public, free of charge.
  • The twin IZOD IndyCar Series victories for Honda at the IndyCar Dual at Detroit in June were the 198th and 199th wins for the manufacturer since it began Indy car competition in 1994. This total includes 100 race wins in seasons with manufacturer competition, as well as 99 victories in the six-year period (2006-2011) when Honda supplied engines to the full IndyCar Series field.
  • Simon Pagenaud's inaugural IndyCar win in the second Detroit race was Honda's 100th victory against competition from other manufacturers. Honda-powered drivers have won three times this season, including two podium sweeps of the top-three finishing positions, and 10 podium finishes in 10 races this season.
  • Honda's other 2013 race victories have been recorded by Takuma Sato for A.J. Foyt Racing at Long Beach, and Mike Conway with Dale Coyne Racing in the first of Detroit's two races.
  • Honda drivers have two victory podium sweeps in 2013. At Long Beach, Honda drivers finished 1-4 (Sato, Graham Rahal, Justin Wilson and Dario Franchitti, respectively); and at the second Detroit "Dual", a Honda 1-5 result (Pagenaud, James Jakes, second; Conway, third; Scott Dixon, fourth and Franchitti fifth).  
  • On his "off" weekend prior to Pocono, Pagenaud drove a race-prepared Honda Odyssey to second in the Exhibition Category at the 2013 Pikes Peak International Hill Climb, part of a record 11-vehicle Honda effort taking part in the annual "Race to the Clouds". Built by Honda associates at Honda Manufacturing of Alabama, the Odyssey features a turbocharged, intercooled V6 engine producing more than 500 hp, a full roll cage and race-tuned suspension and brakes.
  • The 2013 season marks the second season of manufacturer competition in the IZOD IndyCar Series after six years of Honda serving as single engine supplier. Chevrolet and Honda are battling for supremacy throughout a season of 19 races.


  • In April 1993, Honda Performance Development was founded in Santa Clarita, California as the competition arm of American Honda Motor Co., Inc. HPD is celebrating its 20th anniversary in 2013 with a variety of events and activities.
  • In 20 years, HPD has grown from just a handful of staffers to approximately 150 associates; and from an engine-rebuilding facility to a complete motorsports Research & Development organization, engaged in programs ranging from pinnacle racing series including the IZOD IndyCar Series, FIA World Endurance Championship and American Le Mans Series; to grassroots and entry-level categories including karting, Quarter Midgets and Formula F competition.
  • Drivers and teams using HPD products have won 199 Indy car races and nine Indianapolis 500s, both in years with multi-manufacturer competition (1994-2005, 2012); and as single engine supplier to the IndyCar Series from 2006-2011.
  • During years of Indy car multi-manufacturer competition, Honda has claimed six Manufacturers' Championships, and Honda-powered drivers have won eight drivers' championships. No other manufacturer has won as many titles in the past 20 years.
  • HPD spearheaded championship-winning efforts in the 2009, 2010 and 2012 American Le Mans Series; the 2010 Le Mans Series; and powered the LMP2-winning team at the 24 Hours of Le Mans in both 2010 and 2012. Last year, the Florida-based Starworks team became the first American team to win an FIA World Championship since 1969, claiming LMP2 honors in the 2012 World Endurance Championship using an HPD ARX-03b chassis and Honda HR28TT V6 engine, prepared and developed by HPD.
Back to Top
Honda North America | 1919 Torrance Boulevard | Torrance, CA 90501 | Media Contacts