Honda Indy 200 Race Report

Circuit: Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course (2.258-mile road course) Lexington, OH
2009 Winner: Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) 108.541 mph average
Weather: Sunny morning, overcast in afternoon, humid, 84 degrees F

Race Results:
Fn. St. Driver Team Engine/Chassis Laps Average Speed/Notes
1. 2. Dario Franchitti Target Chip Ganassi Honda Dallara 85 100.542 mph avg.; led 29 laps
2. 1. Will Power Team Penske Honda Dallara 85 -0.5234 seconds; led 25 laps
3. 6. Helio Castroneves Team Penske Honda Dallara 85 -4.0883 seconds
4. 14. Alex Tagliani FAZZT Racing Honda Dallara 86 -5.6423 seconds; led 30 laps
5. 5. Scott Dixon Target Chip Ganassi Honda Dallara 85 -5.9150 seconds
6. 7. Ryan Briscoe Team Penske Honda Dallara 85 -6.5100 seconds
7. 19. Raphael Matos de Ferran Dragon Racing Honda Dallara 85 -6.7518 seconds
8. 10. Simona de Silvestro-R HVM Racing Honda Dallara 85 -10.1451 seconds
9. 9. Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Honda Dallara 85 -10.9555 seconds
10. 4. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Honda Dallara 85 -13.2344 seconds; led 1 lap
11. 15. Bertrand Baguette-R Conquest Racing Honda Dallara 85 -14.8250 seconds
12. 16. Mario Moraes KV Racing Technology Honda Dallara 85 -16.0461 seconds
13. 21. Alex Lloyd-R Dale Coyne Racing Honda Dallara 85 -16.5570 seconds
14. 13. Dan Wheldon Panther Racing Honda Dallara 85 -19.3518 seconds
15. 24. Vitor Meira A.J. Foyt Racing Honda Dallara 85 -20.0782 seconds
16. 18. JR Hildebrand-R Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Honda Dallara 85 -20.2169 seconds
17. 20. Tony Kanaan Andretti Autosport Honda Dallara 85 -25.4286 seconds
18. 17. Adam Carroll-R AFS/Andretti Autosport Honda Dallara 85 -26.5918 seconds
19. 12. Hideki Mutoh Newman Haas Racing Honda Dallara 85 -27.3302 seconds
20. 26. Graham Rahal Newman Haas Racing Honda Dallara 85 -27.6341 seconds
21. 22. Danica Patrick Andretti Autosport Honda Dallara 85 -28.2099 seconds
22. 23. Francesco Dracone-R Conquest Racing Honda Dallara 82 Running
23. 25. Milka Duno Dale Coyne Racing Honda Dallara 81 Running
24. 27. Jay Howard-R Sarah Fisher Racing Honda Dallara 37 Did not finish - contact
25. 3. Takuma Sato-R KV Racing Technology Honda Dallara 28 Did not finish - crash
26. 8. E.J. Viso KV Racing Technology Honda Dallara 22 Did not finish - crash
27. 11. Justin Wilson Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Honda Dallara 22 Did not finish - crash

Franchitti Edges Power at Mid-Ohio

The two main players in the fight for the 2010 IZOD IndyCar Series Championship battled throughout Sunday's Honda Indy 200, but at the checkers, after 85 laps around the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, it was Dario Franchitti prevailing by the narrow margin of just 52 hundredths of a second over Will Power.

Franchitti's second victory of the season moves him to within 41 points of Power, who has scored all four of his wins this year at road and street course events. However, just one more road course remains this season, which wraps up with four consecutive oval track events. Power has yet to win on an oval, while Franchitti has multiple victories in his 14-season open-wheel racing career.

The victory today was decided in the first round of pit stops on Lap 25, when Franchitti's Target Chip Ganassi Racing crew gave him fresh tires and a full load of fuel just a tick of the stopwatch more quickly than Team Penske could perform the same service for Power. Although Franchitti emerged from the pits in third - behind an out-of-sequence Alex Tagliani and Tony Kanaan - he was ahead of Power and would remain there for the rest of the day.

At the second round of stops, on Lap 60, Franchitti again emerged from the pits ahead of Power and - with Tagliani and Kanaan no longer threats to win - led his championship rival to the finish.

For the 12th consecutive race weekend in 2010, all 27 drivers completed this weekend's event without a failure of the Honda Indy V-8 engine, as drivers and teams logged a total of 9,720 trouble-free miles around the classic, 2.258-mile Mid-Ohio circuit.

Tagliani led a race-high 30 laps after pitting on Lap 22 in a move designed to get him out of heavy mid-pack traffic. Just one lap after he pitted, the first full-course caution flag of the day came out, moving Tagliani to the front of the field when everyone else made their first stops. Once at the front, "Tags" demonstrated he had the pace to maintain that advantage, and as a result dropped only a few positions during the final round of stops. He finished fourth, the best result for his new-for-2010 FAZZT Race Team.

Three other drivers - two rookies and a sophomore - also scored their best results of this season. In his second year with de Ferran Dragon Racing, Raphael Matos charged from 10th to seventh in the closing laps, just ahead of Simona de Silvestro, with an eighth-place run for the small HVM Racing squad. Another rookie, Bertrand Baguette, recorded his best IndyCar finish with an 11th place effort.

The IZOD IndyCar Series will take a one-week break, then head west to Infineon Raceway, just north of San Francisco, to conclude the road-racing portion of the schedule at the August 22 Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma.

IZOD IndyCar Series Championship (after 12 of 17 races):

1. Will Power 461 (4 wins)   6. Ryan Hunter-Reay 336 (1 win)
2. Dario Franchitti 420 (2 wins)   7. Tony Kanaan 304 (1 win)
3. Scott Dixon 379 (2 wins)   8. Marco Andretti 266
4. Ryan Briscoe 352 (1 win)   9. Justin Wilson 262
5. Helio Castroneves 340 (1 win)   10. Dan Wheldon 259

Dario Franchitti (#10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) started 2nd, finished 1st, 2nd IZOD IndyCar Series win of 2010, 25th career open-wheel win, all with Honda: "I'm quite surprised, and really happy, to have reached 25 victories. The final pit stop was critical. Will [Power] and I were very evenly matched on pace and I'm not sure I would have had any more luck passing him today than he had trying to pass me. It's not over yet, there are still a lot of races to run, and we'll keep fighting on for the championship. Sonoma is next, and we won there last year, so that gives us a bit of an edge heading out there."

Will Power (#12 Team Penske Honda) started 1st, finished 2nd, clinches the Mario Andretti Trophy for most championship points scored on road/street circuits in 2010: "It's fantastic, this is a really good day for us. Mario [Andretti] is one of the top racers of all time, so to win the road-racing championship is a huge honor. But we're focused on the overall championship, and there's still quite a ways to go in the season. He [Franchitti] got us in the pits ... and we just couldn't get him back. He made no mistakes all day. We're still at the top, but Dario's closing, so we have to stay focused, working hard and improving."

Steve Eriksen (Assistat Vice President, Honda Performance Development) on today's race: "It was a great weekend for Target Chip Ganassi Racing, with Dario's landmark 25th open-wheel victory adding to his total as Honda's most successful open-wheel racer, and tying in nicely with his triumph earlier this year in the Indianapolis 500, [which was] Honda's 100th IZOD IndyCar Series win. It was exciting to see a promising new team like FAZZT live up to its name, leading the majority of the race, and great to see talented newcomers like Raphael Matos and Simona de Silvestro have top-eight finishes. With our nearby auto assembly plants and R&D facility, Mid-Ohio is a "home" race for many Honda associates and it looked like a lot of them were in attendance today and enjoying the racing."